A Runscope Community Project

Hurl?

Hurl.it makes HTTP requests.

Choose the request method, customize headers and POST parameters, add basic authorization or OAuth credentials, and even follow redirects. Then view the nicely formatted request and response.

It's the perfect tool for testing APIs. Just enter a URL and click send.

Hurl was originally created by Chris Wanstrath and Leah Culver for the 2009 Rails Rumble.

Hurl was acquired and maintained by Twilio for awhile (thanks Twilio!).

Hurl was acquired and relaunched by Runscope in 2013.

Follow Hurl.it on Twitter


Prepopulating Fields

You can create a link to Hurl.it that pre-populates the fields from values specified in URL parameters.

Supported fields and parameters:

Field URL Parameter Accepted Values
Method method One of the following values: GET, POST, PUT, PATCH, HEAD, OPTIONS, DELETE.
URL url Any valid URL.
HTTP Basic Username username A string.
HTTP Basic Password password A string.
Headers headers

A JSON object of name/value attribute pairs. The attribute name is used for the header name. The attribute value should be an array of values. If you need to specify multiple headers with the same name but different values, specify the name once and pass the values into the array.

For example, {"Set-Cookie":["cookie1"]} or {"Set-Cookie":["cookie1", "cookie2"]}.

Try It

Form Parameters form

A JSON object of name/value attribute pairs. The attribute name is used for the parameter name. The attribute value should be an array of values. If you need to specify multiple parameters with the same name but different values, specify the name once and pass the values into the array.Only used if method specified is POST, PUT, PATCH or DELETE.

For example, {"name":["John"]} or {"name":["John", "Frank"]}.

Try It

URL Parameters args

A JSON object of name/value attribute pairs. The attribute name is used for the parameter name. The attribute value should be an array of values. If you need to specify multiple parameters with the same name but different values, specify the name once and pass the values into the array.Only used if method specified is GET, HEAD or OPTIONS.

For example, {"name":["John"]} or {"name":["John", "Frank"]}.

Try It

Request Body body A string.
Follow Redirects follow_redirects on or off
OAuth 1.0a Consumer Key consumer_key A string.
OAuth 1.0a Consumer Secret consumer_secret A string.
OAuth 1.0a Access Token access_token A string.
OAuth 1.0a Token Secret token_secret A string.
Digest Username digest_username A string.
Digest Password digest_password A string.

Where did my saved hurls go?!

Due to the sensitive nature of the data contained within many of the saved hurls, we decided it was best to permanently delete them. Request and response data are no longer persisted as well.

For secure storage and sharing of HTTP API requests, please sign up for a free Runscope account.